Author Topic: Downloading Radar Imagery  (Read 67253 times)

Wichtel

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Downloading Radar Imagery
« on: September 23, 2004, 03:16:22 PM »
Here everything gets in which has to work with the further development of the skin e.g. radar pictures

uk_skinner

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1313
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2004, 04:17:53 PM »
Wichtel:

   Have beening waiting to see this up.  Should I move all my previous post here?

uk_skinner

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1313
Radar Image Update with Weather Information
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2004, 04:26:39 PM »
Wichtel:

       I tried this up to 7 radar images at the same time. No problem at all.  The radar image will be downloaded first then weather information will be updated.  Here is an example of the codes I tried in v1.04ENG (in main page).  I also tried to delete all the information in the buffer folder, no problem at all.  

imagebutton,4,50,Aktualisierungsbutton_main.png,,-1,7,-nohighlight,-1

   //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
   ////////////////  US Radar Image Update  ///////////////////////////
   //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

   button,4,50,25,10,-1,0,\Program Files\TodayPlus\Radar_exe\US_Radar.exe,0
   button,4,50,25,10,-1,0,\Program Files\TodayPlus\Radar_exe\SW_Radar.exe,0
   button,4,50,25,10,-1,0,\Program Files\TodayPlus\Radar_exe\SC_Radar.exe,0
   button,4,50,25,10,-1,0,\Program Files\TodayPlus\Radar_exe\SE_Radar.exe,0
   button,4,50,25,10,-1,0,\Program Files\TodayPlus\Radar_exe\NW_Radar.exe,0
   button,4,50,25,10,-1,0,\Program Files\TodayPlus\Radar_exe\NC_Radar.exe,0
   button,4,50,25,10,-1,0,\Program Files\TodayPlus\Radar_exe\NE_Radar.exe,0

Wichtel

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2004, 03:07:05 PM »
Quote from: "uk_skinner"
Wichtel:

   Have beening waiting to see this up.  Should I move all my previous post here?


I have made extra for you  :wink:

I think we should let the post where they are, since otherwise everything is taken out of context. We simply carry on where we have stopped.
 
Quote from: "uk_skinner"

I tried this up to 7 radar images at the same time. No problem at all. The radar image will be downloaded first then weather information will be updated. Here is an example of the codes I tried in v1.04ENG (in main page). I also tried to delete all the information in the buffer folder, no problem at all.


This is good news  :approve:

Today, I have already had rather strong problems with the normal weather update.  For any reason TD+ hasn't fetched the data from the net but of my hard disk. After Clear Buffer and new synchronization the data were from 19.09.04. i have needed 2 hours to manage this. But now there is everything ok again

joelw135

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 670
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2004, 03:33:03 PM »
I am having the same problem here. I am getting 0 Bite files, when I check the buffer.
Dell Axim X3i, Windows Mobile 2003
512mb Kingston SD card
256mb Lexar SD card
Today Plus
WisBar Advanced
PIEPlus
DotPocket

Rotlaus

  • TodayPlus User
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2004, 03:45:21 PM »
For the Download Program here is an example for the config file:

Code: [Select]

http://image.de.weather.com/web/maps/de_DE/satellite/regions/germany_sat_277_nl.jpg
//Proram Files/TodayPlus/images/radar1.jpg
http://image.de.weather.com/web/maps/satellite/regions/europesat_277x187.jpg
//Proram Files/TodayPlus/images/radar2.jpg


and so on for up to 21 cities....

Comments?

Andre

Wichtel

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2004, 03:45:49 PM »
@ joelw135
I have made clear buffer, then i cleaned all tmp files and all Temporary internet files on Pc and PPC after this it worked again. Still have I cleaned the Registry before.

Perhaps it also works at you

uk_skinner

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1313
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2004, 03:49:26 PM »
Quote from: "Rotlaus"
For the Download Program here is an example for the config file:

Code: [Select]

http://image.de.weather.com/web/maps/de_DE/satellite/regions/germany_sat_277_nl.jpg
//Proram Files/TodayPlus/images/radar1.jpg
http://image.de.weather.com/web/maps/satellite/regions/europesat_277x187.jpg
//Proram Files/TodayPlus/images/radar2.jpg


and so on for up to 21 cities....

Comments?

Andre


Rotlaus:
   Looks good to me.....

Timmy

  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2004, 04:39:21 PM »
Well, my fellow skinners,

Here are two other weather questions:

•  How do I get the Amount of Precipitation in my skin?
•  How do I get the Hours of Precipitation in my skin?

I've attached an AccuWeather.com pic (example).

Timmy
Toshiba e750BT, WM 2003, Today Plus 0.11.0, WISbar Adv, Agenda Fusion, Pocket Slides, TomTom

uk_skinner

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1313
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2004, 04:55:03 PM »
Quote from: "Timmy"
Well, my fellow skinners,

Here are two other weather questions:

•  How do I get the Amount of Precipitation in my skin?
•  How do I get the Hours of Precipitation in my skin?

I've attached an AccuWeather.com pic (example).

Timmy


Timmy:  The weather information in TP is from MSNBC, I don't think they provide these two information... :shock:

jhollin1138

  • Administrator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
    • www.jhollin1138.com
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2004, 08:50:33 PM »
Quote from: "uk_skinner"
Timmy:  The weather information in TP is from MSNBC, I don't think they provide these two information... :shock:

You are correct, you can only get "precipitation" as in the chance of rain.  See here.
Jim H

Timmy

  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2004, 02:25:38 AM »
@Uk_skinner,
@Jhollin1138,


Thanks for your answers!

I knew that it isn't possible in the usual way we play with TodayPlus so far. But I think that there MUST BE POSSEBILITIES to do thoings like this!

We can get radar in our TodayPlus screens now too. Six month ago we didn't imagine that such things were possible.

I hope someone get a brainwave  :idea:    :idea:    :idea:  

Maybe by uk_skinner or  jhollin1138, maybe by someone else. I bellieve that a devellopers corner can produce nice features for the future  :!:

Timmy
Toshiba e750BT, WM 2003, Today Plus 0.11.0, WISbar Adv, Agenda Fusion, Pocket Slides, TomTom

Wichtel

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #12 on: September 25, 2004, 05:43:16 AM »
I think that this information has to be obtained only with additional programs.  The radar data are available at the moment although however still not automatic. We still must press the button to update the data.  
Let us solve this problem first before we tackle the next step.

Rotlaus

  • TodayPlus User
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2004, 01:47:05 PM »
Quote from: "uk_skinner"

Rotlaus:
   Looks good to me.....


Yeah, and now it works!   :D

In the Attachement there are two file, just copy them to "\My Documents\" and start the radar.exe. It should store two radar images to \My Documents\

You can configure in the radar.txt which files will be downloaded and where they have to be stored.

Please give it a try and tell me if it works for u too.




Andre

uk_skinner

  • Global Moderator
  • TodayPlus Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1313
Downloading Radar Imagery
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2004, 02:00:52 PM »
Quote from: "Rotlaus"
Quote from: "uk_skinner"

Rotlaus:
   Looks good to me.....


Yeah, and now it works!   :D

In the Attachement there are two file, just copy them to "\My Documents\" and start the radar.exe. It should store two radar images to \My Documents\

You can configure in the radar.txt which files will be downloaded and where they have to be stored.

Please give it a try and tell me if it works for u too.




Andre


Good job.  How did you fix it?  Again, can I get the codes?  Thanks.